“THERE’S NO REASON TO DO THIS SONG HERE,” or Jerk-Love, or We’re Gonna Be on the Radio

We here at JWG recognize the importance of paying homage to those who have shaped us into the myopic jerks that we are today.

Since today we’re going to be on the radio, speaking with Colin McEnroe, et al, we thought who better to pay homage to than Elvis Costello, naturally.

AHEM – WE WILL BE ON THE RADIO TODAY. LISTEN TO THE COLIN MCENROE SHOW LIVE ON 90.5FM IF YOU’RE NEARBY OR ON WNPR.ORG. 1PM EST.

So, Elvis. First things first:

Elvis Costello is a jerk:

  • Look at how he dances.  How would you describe that motion?
  • Read up on his SNL performance history.
  • Added bonus reason: listen to his lyrics.

I’m pretty sure a love of all things Elvis Costello was passed along to me with all the amniotic stuff.  The first dance moves I tried resembled his.  My Aim Is True was stuck in the tape player of my first car – and I was okay with that.  The last CD I remember trying really hard to find – before the days of eminent internet availability – was The Costello Show’s King of America.

Whoever decides to have children with me is in for a treat, because I have long known – known with the kind of knowledge one has on a cellular level – that my first-born son will be called Declan Patrick Aloysius Deino Dahn.  That will never change.  Love me, love my names.

But enough about the slim likelihood of me raising a family.  Which jerks with glasses have shaped you into who you are?

~ by likebadlovesongs on January 8, 2010.

4 Responses to ““THERE’S NO REASON TO DO THIS SONG HERE,” or Jerk-Love, or We’re Gonna Be on the Radio”

  1. When I was just starting out as a jerk in college, I interviewed Colin for one of my feature writing classes.

    So, in keeping with both of your themes, I would suggest that Colin McEnroe was most definitely one of the jerks that shape me into what I am today.

    It also helped that every time my mother would hear his program come on the radio (right after her precious Ray Dunaway on WTIC AM – right around 10 a.m. or so), she would say: “I can’t stand this jerk.” And then she would turn the radio off. And I would go read books with poorly printed small typed pages, which probably is what contributed to my poor eyesight.

  2. Enjoyed hearing you on the radio this afternoon (I was the bookmobile gal who called in). I definitely plan on checking out your archives!
    Anyway, after I hung up, I remembered a theme in some Alfred Hitchcock films regarding women in glasses (Midge in Vertigo, Miriam in Strangers on a Train) where men find them threatening. Glasses serve as a symbol of voyeurism and only men should do the looking (rather antiquated thinking, but there you are). And in both films, the two women get the short end of the stick because their glasses make them “too masculine.” Midge became one of my bespectacled heroes — she’s smart, funny, and talented. Of course, Jimmy Stewart preferred to (quite literally) chase after bland, lying Kim Novak, breaking poor Barbara Bel Geddes’ heart. Boy, could I relate. But I’d rather be a Midge than a Madeleine/Judy any day.

    • Thanks for listening and for reading!

      While JWG don’t watch much tv (unless, of course, you count Twin Peaks), we do watch films, and we have a particular soft spot for Hitchcock. (It’s too bad he didn’t wear glasses; he’d be a prime candidate for The Famously Bespectacled Throughout History…) I think your reading of those characters is spot-on; they do essentially become too masculine in Hitchcock terms (or too round in Forester’s) to be a love object. Maybe to be a Hitchcock love object a character essentially has to be as blank as a screen – something onto which the male leads can project their ideas, hopes, neuroses, etc. In that case, glasses would block projection. They’re an easy-to-read symbol and they get in the way.

      And you know, I’d rather be a Midge, too.

Leave a Reply

 
