That’s not fair!

Don’t you love reading about other people’s dreams? It’s almost as fulfilling as speed dating.

Last night, I dreamt about my glasses.

twilight_zone

Your life is about to suck so much. Just like mine. But I get to wake up.

They were dirty.  In fact, they’re very dirty now.  I’m going to go clean them.  There…That’s better, but still not quite right. I think the lenses are scratched, which is probably why I had this dream in the first place.

OK back to my very important dream.  I decided to clean my dirty glasses with a tissue.  As I did, I noticed that the lenses became dirtier and dirtier.  I stopped, got a lint-free cloth, and kept going.  I rubbed so hard on the lenses that the glasses broke.

Ah, I thought in my dream, time for bed! And so I slept.  Next morning (but not really because I’m still dreaming, duh), I wake up and try to put on my glasses.  This proves to be a challenge.  The lenses are opaque with filth, and I have to hold them on my face with my right hand, since the bit that goes over my right ear has fallen off.  I spend an entire dream work day doing this.

Then, I wake up for real, reach for my glasses on my nightstand, and sigh with relief  -they’re fine.  I don’t think I’ve ever loved or appreciated my non-broken, transparent lens glasses as I have in that moment.  It’s the closest I’ll ever come to the love and wonder a mother feels for her child.

~ by jerkswithglasses on November 6, 2009.

3 Responses to “That’s not fair!”

  1. I love that your possibly related post has to do with Lindsay Lohan, because surely she has these similar dreams. Only substitute glasses with “remnant stitches of clothing – likely leggings.”

    Also, this is why I have multiple pairs. I live in fear of broken glasses (and currently my favorite pair is broken, and I’m living on the edge with only one pair).

  2. Learn, Danton, learn. Glasses on nightstand. It’s so simple.

  3. I love speed-dating. I really love it a lot. Actually, I can’t think of a better way to spend my free time.

Leave a Reply

 
