Cooking Tips from JWG

I never really experienced sibling rivalry in any form. Friends would talk about it – fights, competition, back-stabbing, in one case literally chopping in a door with an axe – and I just kind of shrugged and said, “Well, my siblings kick ass.”

That doesn’t mean it was all roses all the time.

For instance, there was the great kitchen incident of 1990. Now, to give a little context, when I asked my mother recently if she though my siblings and I were needy children, she replied, “Patrick was always demanding stuff.” Surprised (he was one of the least demanding children I’ve known), I asked her what she meant. She clarified: “He always wanted pasta. He’d come up to me and say, ‘Pasta, pasta!'”

It’s true. We ate a lot of pasta.

So anyway, it was 1990 and I was cooking pasta and broccoli for dinner. My brother asked if he could help at all and I had him hold the colander over the sink.

You know what happens to glasses when they’re positioned directly above a pot of boiling water? The lenses steam up.

I poured the pasta (and, more to the point I suppose, the water) on his hand.

Patrick still likes pasta though. And he’s not disfigured.

Anyway, I’ll leave it up to you, my jerkettes. What’s the verdict?

~ by likebadlovesongs on August 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “Cooking Tips from JWG”

  1. Jeez. “I couldn’t see!” is NO EXCUSE.

  2. My grandmother once poured boiling pasta water on my foot. It was summer & we were visiting her house & I was “in the way” as she was on her way to the sink. She felt bad about it – she wore glasses too but I don’t think they were fogged up – I just think she didn’t look where she was going.
    I developed a disgusting blister. I’d forgotten until just now. Thanks, JWG, for reviving a traumatic memory. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

 
